HeadsUp: 30 Gum Lung Jaew

When a younger guy has a liking for an older woman, I call that type of love “noona love”. Of course it’s a Korean inspired term because I see it a lot in kdramas, but looks like Thailand is taking on “noona love”. Last month, “Ploy” Chermarn  Boonyasak and “Pae” Arak Amornsupasiri‘s Ruk 30 Buak was released. And last week, we have 30 Gum Lung Jaew  with “Aump” Patcharapa Chaichue and “Ken” Pupoom Pongpanu.

By reading about the movie 30 Gum Lung Jaew and watching the trailer and MV, this is what I gathered. Ja (“Aump” Patcharapa Chaichue) has everything a woman dreams of: beauty, a successful career, a party lifestyle, and a handsome sweetheart, but on her 30th birthday, her boyfriend break-ups with her. She meets our “Ken” Pupoom Pongpanu [don’t know his character name]! He obviously likes her and stalks her and asks to be her boyfriend. Ja out right calls him a kid and that he’s only a little brother to her. Things develop over time and love happens. She’s 32, he’s 23, conflicts arise.

You know what got interested in this movie?

1. Right when Ken asks, “Row ma bpen fan gun na Pee Ja?” That was so cute! ‘Let’s be boyfriend/girlfriend na, Pee Ja.’ Pee means older sister; it functions like ‘noona’.

2. I was blown away by the youthfulness of Aump. No wonder Ken falls for this older woman.

3. Ken! I watch dramas/lakorns/movies for one reason, and that reason is for a particular guy [if more than one guy, then I’m in heaven!]. Ken is our Ken of 4+1 Superstar ka. I don’t know much about him, but I’m sure going to! Love this character. Her wears Popeye shirts, read mangas, and buys his older woman flowers though he’s allergic to pollen. Wonder if he’s younger than me?

4. These scenes below:

(He presents her a boxed lunch on the bus and gives her a heart underwater) Ken: “Pee is a special person to me, making me forget your age.”

(Walking back from a date, the ex is back) Jerk: “Who is it, Ja?” Ja: “A young neighbor.” (Afterwards, in the street fighting) Ken: “Pee is a coward.” Ja: “You will never understand. You’re still a kid.” Ken: “One word, a kid. Two word, a kid. Does a kid not have heart? He’s unable love anyone or what?”

Friend: “Stop using your brain to think, ask your heart.” (They get close…kissing?)

(Taking cute pics and talking on the seashore) Ken: “According to research, men die before women seven years [Can’t count in Thai, but I’m sure-ish it’s 7]. If we marry and it’s true, then we can dead together. Isn’t that better, Pee?” [Most romantic thing I’ve heard in a long time!]

5. I love rom-com.

(She’s cooks for him. He heartily eats as she watch.) Ken: “Pee’s cooking is…It’s…” Ja: “It’s what?” Ken: “Like my mother’s cooking-like exactly!” [OMG!]

About godninja

I like being a mystery, but my writing reflects me.
This entry was posted in HeadsUp and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to HeadsUp: 30 Gum Lung Jaew

  1. fieryheart says:

    I’ve finally watched the movie ! *celebration dance*
    It was aired on my satellite TV channel. I wish I could upload it to YT or any video sites but I don’t know how to.

  2. fieryheart says:

    This looks interesting. I tried to find download links for this movie but to no avail.
    Can you tell me what does ’30 Gum Lung Jaew’ means ?

    • godninja says:

      hmmm, honestly i dunno. i’ve never heard the title pronounced like in a show or something to get the real meaning of it. “gum lung” mean ‘just about’ and “jaew” i believe is ‘cool/hot’ or it is the one that means ‘beautiful’? so i suppse something to the ring of “30 is just about hot/30 is just about cool/30 is just about beautiful”. in most direct translation “30 Just About Cool” Hot/Beautiful. however, if i recall correctly, it was translate as “30 and Still Beautiful” somewhere.

      • fieryheart says:

        Thanks for the input ! 😀
        Gosh, it’s really hard to find this movie online. Even the site that provides download links for Asian movies don’t have this.
        By the way, I’m going to Bangkok on 21st January.
        Is there any chance that I could find an English-subtitled DVD of the movie and is it easy to find English-subtitled DVDs of Thai movies in Thailand ?
        Sorry to burden you with my questions.

      • godninja says:

        no burden. i just hope i can answer all questions i receive. i mean it when i say there is 0% chance of you finding a thai movie or lakorn english subtitled of any market even online ones expect if you are talking big names like Ong Bak or something. in short, they don’t exist! unless there’s some illegal other ways. even popular movies like A Crazy Thing Called Love/First Love has no eng subs. i know that some lakorn repackage for china do have chinese-subs. most importantly if you want the VCD/DVD (with no subs of course), check first if it’s out on VCD/DVD yet. i don’t know how long it takes a thai movie to go from the theaters to DVD…? to my knowledge, i don’t think this is even out on VCD/DVD yet.

      • fieryheart says:

        Just got back from Bangkok.
        Didn’t have the chance to actually enter a CD store and look for this movie since I was too busy flipping through the clothes rack at each mall I went too.
        I did saw a vendor selling pirated DVDs on the street but they are mostly Western movies.
        It’s too bad that Thai movies with English subtitles are hard to come by.
        Anyhow, I still have my pay TV provider that shows Thai movies and lakorn once in a while so at least I’m not deprived of them 😀
        Thanks again for the info dear 🙂

      • godninja says:

        back from thailand already? still only dream of going to thailand… until one day when i marry a rich guy, of course, then i’ll go buy a house in thailand next to nadech equipped with a telescope for lesiure viewing. i can imagine it already!

      • fieryheart says:

        Yeah, it was just a short 3 days trip. Couldn’t do much. Ok, so I did a LOT of shopping but no sightseeing. Sigh..I’ll definitely come back to Thailand ! The people are so warm and friendly. I kept my eyes wild so that I could have a chance of spotting any celebs. Not a chance ! I did saw Nadech though…on a billboard.
        I truly hope that your wish will be fulfilled. But what will your rich husband say about you buying a house just to stalk another man ? Haha.

  3. Mimi says:

    I want to watch this so badly! Where can i find the link?!

    Do share me if you can find it. TQ

    • godninja says:

      it just came out. i not pro enough to know blackmarketish sites to go watch thai movies. when do find links to both movies, i will post it on my pinned announcie post!

  4. miki says:

    can anyone give a link to watch the whole movie in eng sub… thanks

  5. -a says:

    I saw this trailer like around september or october one of those month and along w/ it i saw ploy and pae’s movie trailer too. And I want to watch both of these movies!! Oh, I don’t like Pae this will be my first time watching Pae.Well, if i do watch it.

  6. Kiki says:

    This looks absolutely cute!!!!!! I’m going to have to find this.

Join the Juiciness

